A Word of Encouragement

This isn’t going to be your typical blog post, but I kinda wanted to touch base with all of you because I haven’t lately. And the reason I haven’t lately is because I have been slogging through some serious depression.

I’m talking about the kind of depression where you curl up and wish you could cry, but you don’t because you don’t have the energy. I’m talking about the kind of depression where some hateful part of your brain dredges up every failure, every disappointment, every shortcoming you’ve ever had and throws it at you in an unending barrage of “you’re not good enough”.

I’m not writing this to whine at you, but rather to let you know that if you should encounter these dark days of doubt where even getting up out of bed seems like an insurmountable task, that you are not alone. The failures you’re obsessing over don’t define you as a person. And, more importantly, they aren’t the real reason you’re depressed. That’s just some wacky chemical imbalance in that skull full of meat we jokingly call a mind.

You are more than your failures. You are more than your loneliness. You are more than your depression.

And you are not alone.

12 responses to “A Word of Encouragement

  1. There are prescribable chemicals to help with chemical imbalances. I hope to see you back here when life is better (estimated at within 2 – 28 days).

  2. Remember, please, there are folks like me pulling for you out here. 😀

    • Thanks for your support. Don’t worry about me too much at the moment; the fact that I’ve posted this mean I at least have the agency to do that so the worst is mostly over. I just wanted to be encouraging to others who might be going through something similar.

  3. Remember, too, that when people don’t respond to posts like these, it is often because they are afraid they will say the wrong thing; it doesn’t mean they don’t care.

    Now I am going to share two jokes with you. These jokes have been certified by authorities who know about these things as the two finest jokes in the history of mankind. They are guaranteed to cheer you. Some countries, including our own have interred these jokes under mountains guarded by fierce marines to be used only in case of national disaster. I alone am empowered to use these jokes to cheer someone up, and I am only allowed to used it once. Now that you are sufficiently humbled but what I am doing for you I hope you will laugh wisely.Prepare yourself because I will now unleash the two jokes in serial order, one following the other.

    Ahem.

    Joke the first:
    How do you catch a unique rabbit?
    Unique up on him.

    Joke the second.
    How do you catch a tame rabbit?
    Tame way.

    The jokes are concluded and hilarity ensues.

    • I’m not worried about whether people respond or not. I only hope I can help someone else who might be going through something similar.
      Also, thank you for the joke. My father was a trusted keeper of this gem of hilarity and now whenever I tell it or hear it told I think of him.

  4. Thanks for taking a chance and posting this. Keeping in contact with others, online or off, is great. Even just a sentence now and then would keep the connection going.

    This is my past therapeutic training kicking in, but is it possible for you just to check in with a physician to rule out other factors?

    Also, I had a friend who “didn’t believe” in prescription anti-depression medication, until she had a severe episode. She was able to get a “baseline” dosage that returned her to her previous “normal” and allowed her to dig into other issues.

    In the past, I’ve taken St. John’s Wort, an over the counter herb that has been used for depression for centuries. In Germany and a few other European countries (I think), it is preferred to pharmaceuticals for it’s “natural” effect, though it’s use is limited to being stuck in the blues rather than major depression.

    The best of luck with this, and keep in touch.

    • If it was an ongoing thing I would definitely consider getting some kind of medical help. When I was younger my mother went through a serious fit of depression that lasted for months. She would sit on the couch and weep, and when we asked her what was wrong she would scream, “I DON’T KNOW!” Eventually she was able to get treatment for the problem and she went back to being her old self.
      As for myself this is a thing that I know happens to me every once in a while, usually not for longer than a week. It hasn’t gotten to the point where its damaging my work or personal life in a significant way (thank goodness for my patient, wonderful, long-suffering wife [she also suggested I add the commas in that list, so she’s a decent editor too]) but if it did I would not hesitate to seek treatment, and I would encourage anyone else out there to do the same.

  5. We tend to judge ourselves in such a harsher light than we would anyone else. We’d never look at another person and see only their failures to sum up their lives and value as a human being. No, we’d take note of all that they have first and then possibly add in a negative trait too. It’s astounding how we talk to ourselves in such a vile way when we’d never consider saying half of what we think to somebody else. Yet, we do it daily.

    I slayed my own demons of depression in an epic battle nearly 17 years ago. Does that mean their ghosts don’t pop up from time to time? Unfortunately, no. I keep my sword on hand, just in case. And a small army to help me fight. I’m sure you have an army ready to enlist too. Don’t be afraid to ask.

  6. I won’t pretend I know just what you are going through. I did just go through a long bout of feeling utterly worthless and know how awful that felt.

    So, I’m wishing you less judging and more accepting of yourself.

    And you are definitely not alone.

  7. Thank you. I needed to read this today.

  8. Pingback: The Quest for Normalcy | Albert Berg's Unsanity Files

Leave a Reply

