An Explanation

I haven’t updated this blog in a few weeks, and in case some of you out there were wondering why here is the reason: I have mononucleosis.

Mononucleosis is some kind of immune system sickness, which I don’t completely understand because I am not a doctor, but from what I can tell it saps your energy so that all you can do is lay in bed all day long. When I first found out I was going to be lying around the house for days on end I thought it would be a great boon to my writing, but it turns out this mono thing saps you so hard you don’t have the mental focus to actively use your brain for more than a few minutes. This includes writing. And reading. And getting any kind of enjoyment out of watching television.

I’ve been able to do a little writing in short bursts, but I have to stop when my energy gives out. I have a story I really want to be editing, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to give it the attention it deserves. I’ve been writing a Bizzaro Book Review blog post in little bits that I’m not sure fit together.

Basically, I’ve become the world’s biggest couch potato. I hate myself for it, but at the moment there’s not much I can do to change it. I’m thankful that I’ve got lots of sick hours saved up at my work, so missing several weeks won’t hit me too hard financially, but I wish I had the energy to get up and be a normal human being again.

That’s all I have the energy to write for now. Hope you all are having a wonderful November, smashing away at NaNoWriMo and all that jazz.

Albert, out.

2 responses to “An Explanation

  1. I haven’t heard of anyone getting mono in ages. Way back in the day (as in decades ago) it was passed around my high school along with a lot of giggles, because it was rumored that the only way to catch it was by kissing. Of course, back in those days, the world was a very different place and kissing was so much more titillating. Ah, for those simpler days.

Leave a Reply

