A Cast of the Pod

So there’s this thing I’ve been doing lately. If you follow me on twitter, you’ve probably heard more than you really wanted to know about it. But just in case you haven’t heard, I thought I’d put the word out in this space that for the last few weeks, I’ve been co-hosting the brand spankin’ new Human Echoes Podcast with fellow-writer and all around awesome human being Tony Southcotte.

Why am I doing a podcast? Well, aside from loving the sound of my own voice, it has come to my attention that people are more likely to partake of a medium if it requires very little participation on their part. A podcast you can listen to while you do the dishes, or on your commute to work. A blog on the other hand? Well, a blog requires you to take a block of time out of your day, and focus exclusively on what’s been written. That’s not to say I’m turning away from blogging, but I’m looking to expand into other stuff as well, cast a wider net.

What is the podcast about? Each week we pick a film you probably haven’t seen before and spend some time discussing its themes and through-lines, strengths and weaknesses. We break down the story from a writer’s perspective and give our opinions on the things that worked and the things that could have been done better.

And then we yammer on for a while about…whatever. Books, culture, politics, how to be a man, why I be hatin’ on Chuck Palahniuk…you name it.

We’re only four episodes in so far and still climbing the learning curve, but in spite of our youth and inexperience I’m fairly proud of what we’ve put out there so far. If that sounds like your cup of Earl Grey then head on over to the Human Echoes Podcast website and check out what we’ve done so far.

Leave a Reply

