The Opening Line Poll UPDATE

So the votes are cast and the winning sentence by a large margin is: “Frankly, if I’d known Frog was going get his thumb bitten off by the deputy mayor I probably would have passed on that second helping of potato logs.” Thanks so much to everyone who came by and shared their thoughts.

Now, I have bad news and I have good news. I always like to get the bad news out of the way first, so here goes: my sentence didn’t win the contest. Super bummer, I know. But in spite of that I’m not ashamed of my attempt. It had a lot going for it, and it suggested a story that for one would really like to read.

Which brings me to the good news. You voted, and I promised you a story, and I’m pleased to announce that “Frog Got Bit” (probably not the story’s actual title) is being written now.

When will you be able to read it? Well, here’s the thing. The story I’m working up for “Frog Got Bit” is going to be a bit on the longish side, so if I waited until it was finished to release it, ya’ll would be waiting for a few months at least. BUT. For a while now I’ve had an itch in my britches (eww, not like that) to do a serial story, posting a new chapter every week or so. I’ve held off until now because the conventional wisdom says it won’t work from an SEO standpoint, but to be honest I’ve kind of gotten past the point of caring if this blog has a bazillion readers or not.

It’ll probably be another week or so before the first chapter goes up, but be assured I am working diligently on getting this thing ready. And, I don’t want to sound arrogant, but I think you’re gonna love it.

(I tell a lie. I do want to sound arrogant. I don’t actually have that much self-confidence, so I’m trying a “Fake it till you make it” approach. Please don’t hate me.)

7 responses to “The Opening Line Poll UPDATE

  1. Yeah, stuff the conventional wisdom. I know publishing before you can post the whole story is verboten on many “official” levels, but I had to do it with my novel for the sheer instant gratification of it. Some readers read along with me and some waited until the whole story was done, but *I* felt great about it.

    • I’ve actually done something like this before with a Red vs. Blue fanfiction I wrote delving into Tex’s origin story. I was really a lot of fun (though I did fall behind sometimes on my updates). I’m definitely looking forward to the experience.

  2. But the burning question is, will you include “itch in my britches” in the “Frog Got Bit” story?

    • I’m going to answer this as if it was a serious question (though I am relatively certain it was not). My feel for the narrator of “Frog Got Bit” is that he’s a bit too…constricted to use this kind of phraseology. Not that he’s a prude, but he’s not entirely comfortable in his skin so he’s not likely to be so playful with his story. Of course as his character grows he might loosen up a bit as the story goes on, so who knows?

  3. Hmmm – I don’t know what SEO means, but I have less and less use for writing rules these days, so my vote is, follow your hunch.

    • SEO stands for “search engine optimization”. It’s not a bad thing to know about, when you’re talking about providing tags for your posts and whatnot, but some people take it further, and suggest that you should write posts specifically for the kinds of things people are likely to search for. Stories don’t fall into this catagory, so they’re not as valuable in terms of SEO.

Leave a Reply

