Flash Fiction February – Day 12

Did you ever think about what makes one story good and another one terrible? There’s that feeling you get in your gut as you’re writing (or reading), and somehow you just know, “Yep, this one’s a stinker,” or “Hey man, this ain’t half bad.”

It seems like there should be some measurable quantity in a story, like those five c’s diamonds are supposed to have. But every time you think you’ve got a handle on what really makes a good story, you come across a story that breaks all the rules and still manages to be pretty good.

I guess I’ve said all that to say that, Flash Fiction February for me continues to be a mixed bag. There’ve been days when I wrote something that really seemed to click, and other days, when even as I was typing I was thinking, “This sucks, this sucks, this sucks.”

Some of it depends on mood I think. I know you “Write Every Day” types don’t like to hear that, but frankly I don’t know how to get around the fact that, for me at least, writing is an intensely emotional act.

Part of the problem, at least in this particular instance, lies in a lack of momentum. When you do NaNoWriMo you can get a rhythm down that carries over day after day as the story grows and progresses. But with something like Flash Fiction February each day is a new start, and while that can be a good thing, it can also be disheartening at times.

In spite of all that, I’m still happy to report that I’m still mostly on schedule. As of today, I’m only one and a half stories behind, and I expect to make up some of that lost ground this week. Also, in spite of the days that weren’t so hot, I wrote at least one story this week that really shook me to my core, and I’m really looking forward to sharing it with you guys a little later this week, so stay tuned for that.

In the mean time I’ll be writing, taking each day as it comes, good or bad. Because one thing I know won’t make a good story is a writer who’s given up.

One response to “Flash Fiction February – Day 12

  1. Glad to read you are chugging along. 🙂

    I’m putting all my Flash Fiction February stories out there as I go, twice a week- right, wrong, or in-between. Maybe someone will start a dialogue on what makes a good flash fiction story. (So far this hasn’t happened.) I think I’ve come up with a few stories that are quite good, and a few that are just confusing. But I think the point is to just keep chugging out story after story for a month. So far, so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

