Turtling

I have a bit of an announcement to make. I’m not sure exactly how to say this, except to just come right out and say it:

I’m not writing anymore.

Well, okay, I’m writing this blog post, but in the overall scheme of things I’m done. No more stories, no more characters, no more anything.

I’m sure the question on most of your minds is, “Why?”

And I’m not sure if I can explain it to you. The best way I can put it is that the desire to write was akin to a hole in my soul, something that demanded to be filled. I could turn my back on it for a while, but it was always there, always calling to me. And now its gone.

It didn’t happen all at once. I can’t pinpoint for you the exact moment the need to write disappeared or started to disappear. All I can tell you is that, for now, it’s gone.

It’s not that I don’t feel like writing. It’s that I don’t feel like being a writer.

It’s very strange in  its way. I’ve been dedicated to this writing thing for more than five years now. But never in that time, no matter what inner pain or despair I felt did I ever feel  the need to turn my back on the vocation that consumed me.

But it wasn’t pain that brought me to this place. In fact, its the exact opposite of pain. I feel content. I am happy to be as I am.

I can’t say whether the need to write will ever return to me again. If it does I will be content. If it does not I will be equally content.

But for now at least, this is goodbye. I wish all of you the very best. I hope all of you have the fortitude to reach your dreams and the good sense to know what those dream really are.

Write your stories and write them well. I’m looking forward to seeing what you all produce. Because if there’s one great benefit to this decision it is this:

I have all the time in the world, to read.

13 responses to “Turtling

  1. You will be missed. 🙂 Happy you’re happy though. -S

  2. Good luck, whichever way you decide in the long run.

  3. Best of luck in whatever you decide to pursue. I’m glad you are a happy reader, though I also have to say I’m perplexed by your new direction. You wrote “What the Dog Saw,” Mr. Berg!

    Ah, well. I’m glad you’re happy. 🙂

  4. Your writing will be missed, Albert. You truly have a gift for it, but sometimes you just have to go with what works for you.

    Enjoy your time reading, and I hope that some day I have the pleasure of reading more from you.

  5. So glad to hear that you’re at peace with the decision. That’s what’s important. I have to echo what everyone has said before me, and tell you that you will be dearly missed. I always enjoyed your insight and sense of humor, and I’m sure you’ll carry that into whatever it is you’ll be doing in writing’s place. Take care, Albert <3.

  6. Good luck, Albert. I’ll miss your writings and insights. I believe you’ll be back after a while (you just got a burned out and need time to recuperate).

  7. Good luck with everything. I agree with Marilag: maybe you’ve just been burnt out.

    Hope to see you writing again someday, soon. 🙂

  8. Wow, love your liberating honesty! Does the no more writing mean no more blogging? For some reason, ok, the honesty of your writing, I have always enjoyed reading your blog even though I know just how invisible I am in the process of it all. Such is the pleasure of being a reader and all best wishes to you!

  9. I believe I understand where you’re coming from. No one’s path is quite the same as any others’, and congratulations on choosing to follow your own. I wish you the best.

  10. Interesting. I hope you continue to blog, but that may fade, too. I’d love to continue to hear how you handle the foster kids.

  11. This was a disturbing post to read. I don’t debate it but, since dissatisfaction is almost necessary for writing, I think I understand. Life can be boring without thinking up stories. I’ve stopped before just because of ennui and my brain went moldy. I hope you take care that doesn’t happen. The moldiness. I’m not saying you’re experiencing ennui.
    Just someone who likes to give opinions.

  12. I can’t believe I missed this when it first came out! I love your writing, Albert. Your voice cracks me up and creeps me out. I understand the lack of desire to write though. Mine has ebbed and flowed over the last year. Sometimes it just takes a little hiatus. I do hope you come back because I love your work, but I’m glad you’re at peace with your decision too.

  13. Pingback: Of Ghosts and Gears | Albert Berg's Unsanity Files

Leave a Reply

