A Conversation Upon the Winning of an Inferior Prize from the Spinning Game in the Lobby of Walmart

His prize was cooler than mine.”

“His prize was a deck of Old Maid cards. I don’t think that’s winning any coolness awards.”

“I wanna play that game again.”

“You want to play the game that took your dollar and gave you a prize you don’t like?”

“Yes. Can I have another dollar?”

“That doesn’t make any sense.”

“I wanna win the gift card.” [Long pause.] “What is a gift card anyway?”

“You want to win something that you don’t know what it is?”

“I think it for getting people gifts.” [Another pause.] “What is a gift card, Mr. Al?”

“I do not believe this.”

“I think its a thing for buying gifts for people. You remember the time when I said I wanted a little dirtbike for my birthday Mr. Al?”

“Yes. I remember all of those times.”

“You didn’t get me a little dirtbike for my birthday.”

“By the time I’m able to afford one of those, you’ll need a big dirt bike.”

“No, a little dirtbike.”

“You’re not picking up what I’m laying down, kiddo.”

“What?”

“Never mind.”

“If you bought me a little dirtbike, I could go places. And you couldn’t catch me. Then I would play the game and get a gift card. Except…what is a gift card, Mr. Al?”

[This conversation with Thing 1 made me smile. I don’t know if I’ve done it proper justice here. You have to give the kid credit though. He’s got a laser-like focus on what he wants. Also, I know that “dirt bike” is supposed to have a space in it, but that’s how he says it: Lil’ dirtbike. Almost like it’s all one word. That makes me smile too. And now I’m turning into that weird guy that won’t stop showing you pictures of his really ugly newborn even though you’re a complete stranger, and if you did meet the kid he would almost certainly have the personality of cauliflower, because the majority of newborns really aren’t that interesting in my experience. So I’ll shut up now.]

One response to “A Conversation Upon the Winning of an Inferior Prize from the Spinning Game in the Lobby of Walmart

  1. Wait a minute, Old Maid doesn’t get coolness points?!

Leave a Reply

