Here We Go Again

Well, it’s happened again folks. The Unsanity Files Blog has been Freshly Pressed.

Some of you remember last time. Conversely, some of you hit your head on a rock, lost your memory, had some adventures with aliens, and then got food poisoning from bad Indian food. Okay, on second thought, maybe that was just Frank.

But being Freshly Pressed freaks me out just a little bit. I know that must sound odd; after all, who wouldn’t want a deluge of new readers flocking to his blog?

But the truth is, it takes me a little outside of my comfort zone. The idea of literally thousands of new eyes scanning over my words is slightly unsettling to me.

Maybe it’s because I know it isn’t really real. In a few days some other blog will be there at the top of the front page and they’ll be seeing the temporary but explosive growth spurt that comes from this bizzare version of what Andy Warhol dubbed the “fifteen minutes of fame.” Or was that Oscar Wilde? Definitely one of those two.

Which isn’t to say, that I’m not intensely grateful for all of the new readers. (Ha! Double negative attack! Take that you snooty prescriptivists. [Seriously it’s been far too long since I picked on prescriptivist grammarians]) Because some of them might stick around. (The new readers, not the prescriptivists; do try and keep up.) And some of them might even buy my book!

So if you’re new ’round these parts, let me say, welcome. If you haven’t noticed, things get a little weird around here from time to time. We don’t call it the Unsanity Files for nothing. But we try to have fun and hopefully share something helpful at the same time. If that sounds like your cup of tea, then stick around.  We’re glad to have you.

And don’t mind Frank. He’s been through a lot, poor fella.

16 responses to “Here We Go Again

  1. Hi Albert,

    Unbelievable, they got you again! Well, I was around the first time and I got all your posts ever since. Congratulations once again! I enjoy reading a lot of your blog. Keep on writing!

    Ginger

  2. I’m new here. Congrats on the Pressed*2 thing. I like you.

  3. Well I just discovered you trough Freshly Pressed, love your sense of humour and your writing and I’ll be sticking around!

  4. Congrats on FP #2! I knew that I was subscribing to you for a reason… maybe the great writing; various types, but never the snoot!!!

    Keep on keeping on!

  5. Hi there Albert!
    I’m new to WordPress, and I found you through the freshly pressed page. You seem to enjoy my kind of weird. Hope you don’t mind being on my blogroll.

  6. Ooh, congrats on being Freshly Pressed again! 🙂

  7. Damn. I sure hope Frank finds his family. Oh, and by the way, congrats.

  8. Good lord. I thought I was alone in my madness. And there’s me thinking I was unique… *sighs*… I’m depressed now….

  9. I love watching the FP bandwagon roll through a post – never on my blog mind you, I know my level of unworthiness! What are the statistics of retention I wonder?
    “Congrats” on the FP, again! I do enjoy your posts, good luck with your writing and with the selling.
    Thank you for the entertainment, Word Dentist!

  10. Oh, I will definitely stick around, thank God for the FP!

  11. Oh, for heavens sake! Excrete or remove the gluteus! If you’re not absolutely thrilled to have thousands of new eyes seeing the cover of
    “What the Dog Saw”, then let me give you my therapist’s number.

  12. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed again. Your Unsanity definitely needs to be shared with more folks. 😀

  13. I found you on Freshly Pressed and am glad I did. And wadda-u-know…here I am back again and enjoying the experience.

    Postscript: It was Andy Warhol that came up with the concept of 15 minutes of fame.

  14. Congratulations! When did that happen? I was out of the loop during the entire week so I missed it when it did.

Leave a Reply

