Uncharted Territory

You know what my problem is? Well, one of my problems anyway?

I’m a hypocrite.

Remember all those posts from a while back about outlining and planning for your story to go somewhere? Well I have a confession to make. I started a new story few days back and I didn’t do any of that stuff.

And you know what? So far it has been awesome. I have been having more fun with this story than I can remember having in a long time, and so far my strategy has been to write every day until I came to a stopping point then come back and write some more tommorow.

This is not how it’s supposed to work. Somewhere in the back of my mind I know that I could easily run up against a brick wall plotwise. But my wordcount on this thing has been through the roof compared to what it was before, and part of me wants to keep writing to find out what happens next.

“Writing for discovery” someone called it once.

To which I responded, “Yes, but what if what you discover is crap?”

But at this point I do not care. At the beginning of the year I resolved to try to have more fun with my writing, and this story has finally helped me to achieve that goal. Maybe it won’t last. Maybe I’ll be hating myself a month down the road when I don’t know how to wrap this thing up.

I’m sure you’ll hear about it if that’s what happens.

In the mean time I’m on the road without a map, just driving along to see where it might take me.

***

You may find this opposing view to be interesting as well.

7 responses to “Uncharted Territory

  1. Hooray for FUN!

    Sometimes you’ve got to plot, sometimes you’ve got to JUST WRITE. Enjoy it . . let your creativity flow . .

  2. I’m doing exactly the same thing with a story I’ve started. A character I like just popped into my head and I just wanted to see where she goes despite having no plot whatsoever… And it doesn’t matter if it’s crap because that’s what rewrites are there for. Kick back and enjoy the ride while it lasts!

  3. Funny post, Albert, enjoy your writing wave! Love the energy and can’t wait to hear more about the story.

  4. Pingback: Eureka! And All Those Lightbulbs | Escaping the Inkwell

  5. My characters are *always* smarter than I am. All I really need to do is chase after them and take notes.

  6. Actually, I’m the opposite. I’m trying to make outlines, considering that I tried not writing one in a while. So, if you’re a hypocrite, so was I.

Leave a Reply

