[Insert Impractical But Awesome Title Here]

I’ve got some bad advice for you guys. But it’s good bad advice. So, you know, do with it what you will.

This is the thing. I’ve seen several articles and blog posts advising us bloggers to only stick with literal unimaginative titles for our posts. For instance, if your post is about forty-seven new ways to make tuna casserole, these people say your post should be titled Forty-Seven New Ways to Make Tuna Casserole.

To this I say, “Baloney!” Heck, lets throw in a couple of slices of “Ham” and “Cheese” and maybe a few slices of “Bread” and make ourselves a “Sandwhich”! Um, that didn’t have anything to do with anything, I just felt like being silly.

To be fair these people have a point. Literal titles are great for search engine optimization. So, for instance, if someone is looking for a post about forty-seven new ways to make tuna casserole, your post will be right there waiting for them.

Here’s my problem with it: there is more to life than SEO.

Sure, I’m here blogging to build a platform. One of these days I may actually try to sell something to all of you wonderful readers out there. But this blog is not just a long term sales pitch.

I am also here to have fun. I want to get silly, I want to tell stories, I want to enjoy myself. I want you to enjoy yourself. And part of that is coming up with crazy titles for my posts. Sometimes the crazy title even comes first, and I think of a post I can fit around it.

I’m not bashing authors who choose to follow this advice. I read after some good people who follow the “Forty-Seven New Ways to Make Tuna Casserole” formula of naming blog posts. I even gave it a try myself for a while. But if you’re on the fence about this issue then I want to encourage you to be yourself and have fun with your blog.

Maybe you’re more comfortable with literal titles. That’s fine too. Just never forget that first and foremost your blog and your platform is a reflection of you, with all your little quirks and eccentricities. So go out and have fun with it.

Because if you’re having fun, chances are your readers will be having fun too. And that’s what it’s all about.

15 responses to “[Insert Impractical But Awesome Title Here]

  1. I totally agree with your point of view on this. I like having fun with titles (and blog posts, for that matter). Tags were created for all those boringly obvious descriptive words. Let’s keep having fun with this blogging thing 🙂

  2. I try to strike a balance…mostly because, three months later, when I’m looking for that link I posted on my own blog, I’ll never remember a purely quirky post name to subject connection. I aim for Winnie the Pooh esque “In Which the Author Discovers a New Use for Spatulas, with an Aside about Fontina” instead. 😛

  3. I like fun and creative titles. I never thought about the SEO issue. Maybe we need 2 titles for each post: the fun and the straight up informative. 😀 I think I tend to do both kinds and sometimes I use a subtitle to clarify a “fun” title.

    • I’ve done a few like that. Also, I’m not suggesting that the title should have nothing to do with the post. Just that it doesn’t have to be boring and SEO friendly.

      • Might be kind of fun if it had nothing to do with the post though. Just a weird title that makes people go Huh? Like the names of characters in Calvino’s CosmoComics maybe. My next post might be EFQPBSTI FSINERS!

  4. I’ve been titling a lot of things “28 shots” or “6 pounds” cos that’s the “punchline” in my head.

    Honestly, I don’t care if it works for anybody cos I’m not getting paid and I’m anonymous 🙂

  5. Titles… I don’t really spend a lot of time thinking of titles. Maybe I should but I don’t want to spend a whole day thinking about it. Crazy titles are fun though. It’s just not as important for me as my content. 🙂

  6. Peter Saint-Clair

    I name my posts whatever I see fit without any concern to SEO and all of that. Hopefully, if I’ve done my tags properly, the title won’t matter as much.

  7. That’s what I was gonna ask, don’t the tags pull the search engines so we can be creative and eye-catching? I mean cm’on, the title has to grab you or why read on?
    Another thoughty, “the way we are feeling post”, AB!

  8. *nods head* agreed! I think I’ve only come up with “searchable” blog titles a hand full of times…I think. I don’t know, I usually go with what my brain churns out at the moment.

  9. Literal titles are no help, really. I’ve had a campaign for years dedicated to changing the american foot measurement to sixteen inches, but even when friends type my exact blog title, “Gain Four Inches Now” Google never takes them to my blog.

  10. I love that you don’t stick with ‘traditional’ titles. What is the point of life if you always have a standard set of things? I am forever being complimented on my photography, partly because of the unique titles I use. It catches people’s attention. And think about it, do you pick up a book with a title like, Sherlock Holmes and How He Solved the Murder of —? No, because that would be boring. Unique titles catch our attention. What would Harry Potter be without the Goblet of Fire? And I am totally blanking on other titles. Blame it on being after two in the morning.

    But I am all for fun unique titles. Now, sometimes, figuring them out is a challenge. Other times, like you, I have the title long before.

  11. For sure, creative offbeat titles are interesting, they make us feel joyous when we strike some fabulous title for a normal post. And above all, interesting titles do attract more poeple to read them.

  12. I love good blog titles. For me, it’s a big part of the creative challenge. Once I actually got out of bed and turned my computer back on so that I could change the title of something I had just posted.

Leave a Reply

