What To Do When You Don’t Feel Like Doing Anything

Today’s post is going to be a tad short, but I don’t need a lot of words to say what’s on my mind, which is this: life isn’t always happy-happy-joy-joy-super-fantastic-funtime. Sometimes you’re not going to feel that great, emotionally speaking.

It may not even be anything in particular that’s bringing you down. Sometimes you just get into the blues.

This is perfectly okay.

Life is about ups and downs. There are going to be some days from time to time when you look at that things that you have to do, or ought to do, and just don’t want to do them.

I’m saying this because I’ve been going through one of those times lately and I know how they can bring me down. I think I’m on the upswing side of it right now, but in another month or two, I’ll probably be headed back into the dumps again.

If you’re having one of those times, I have two pieces of advice:

1. Give yourself a break.

I’m not necessarily saying to turn your back on your responsibilities, but don’t let yourself get depressed about feeling depressed. You are not obligated to be happy every day.

2. There’s a nap for that.

Oh, it feels so good to get that out. You have no idea how long I’ve been wanting to use that pun on this blog.

Anyway. Most of the time when I’m feeling like crap I can trace it back directly to fatigue. Sometimes there’s nothing you can do about it. Lately My schedule has simply demanded that I get up early and stay up late. But the amount of rest you get can affect really your mood, so if you get the chance to slip in a few winks here or there, do it. You’ll probably feel better afterwards.

And that’s all I’ve got for today. It didn’t stay quite as short as I first intended, but…whatever. I hope it helps. I know it makes me feel a little better just to write it. Then again, I just took a nice nap, so that might have something to do with it too.

8 responses to “What To Do When You Don’t Feel Like Doing Anything

  1. ohh…i m so relieved to read that. It’s true that we all go thro’ ups and downs everyday, but when sad, we don’t realize that it is also perfectly normal.

  2. Oh such wise words…I am in one of those slumps right now… the ever relentless insult we call weather here in London, and the cold and dark etc etc are just not helping and I find myself just coming home from work and slumping on the sofa switching channels, thinking I SHOULD be using this time to do my writing etc. And then feeling guilty about it all… I guess its more common that one thinks…and oh, I love your there’s a nap for that slogan….LOL!!!

  3. Wanted you to know that I’ve subscribed after reading 2 posts. Keep writing!

  4. Know what you mean, for sure. I love “there’s a nap for that” – hahaha!
    Sunshine

  5. Meaningful post for me, Albert. As a recent retiree (if you consider November 1 recent) I have been spending a lot of time sitting with any number of things I have wanted to do but just haven’t felt like doing on any particular day. One of those, of course, is starting a self-indulgent blog about this process I’m going through; and writing creative non-fiction pieces that I might also post to the blog. In some way this post of yours provides a degree of motivation – or maybe focus – for me. Thanks!

  6. Thank you. You just put everything I’m feeling in words. I’m sick and tired of everyone expecting me to be happy all the time. I’m only human. Why can’t they get that?

  7. haha! Nice and true. This might sound a bit erm arse-y but I honestly don’t get people who portray themselves as “I’m so happy that I make Happy the clown look sad 24/7, 365 days a year, every year till death takes me away…and even *then* I’m going to be happy, happy, *HAPPIEEEE*”

  8. Pingback: the itch to write but can you really write? « draft, edit & publish…

Leave a Reply

