Plotting for People Who Hate Plotting

For most of my writing career I’ve fallen firmly on the “pantster” side of the writing world. For those of you who have been living in a cave without wifi access for the last five years (All the best caves have wifi now. Haven’t you heard?) a pantster is a writer who never outlines his stories ahead of time and just writes “by the seat of his pants”. I tried outlining when I first started writing, but it all felt so mechanical and forced that I just hated it, and by the time I finished writing the book I had pretty well run off the rails of what I had planned anyway.

I’ve spent the rest of my writing life just winging it, making up my plot as I go along. Sure, I’d give the my story a lot of thought beforehand, and I’d try to have a general goal of what I wanted to accomplish in the story mapped out in my head, but for the most part I never wrote anything down.

But life as a pantster can be hard. I’m getting ready to go into my final set of revisions for my story The Mulch Pile next month, and I’m already dreading the changes I’m going to have to make. Why? Because about two thirds of the way through writing the story I realized something vitally important about my main character that completely changed the way I looked at the first part of the story. I tried to go in and tweak things at the beginning so that they’d work with my new understanding of my character, but the truth is its going to take a lot more work to fix it.

The problem is this: if I’d made an outline and followed the outline, I never would have had the incredible breakthrough that’s making me go back and revisit all of my early scenes. The rigid form of outlining would have never allowed me to think about the story in such a different way. But yesterday I discovered a technique that combines the best of both worlds. The muntant hybrid of plotting, and winging it. And it was awesome.

Here’s how it happened. I got an idea for a short story while I was fighting off a terrible bought of hives (Yeah, my ideas come from the weirdest places). While I sat in front of my computer thinking about the story, I opened Notepad at a whim and just started typing stuff. Plot points, character details, whatever came to my mind, whenever it came to my mind. It looked something like this:

The itch

sisters

rivalry

hatred

Older vs Younger

mother’s affections

mother a witch

sister’s learning to follow in her footsteps

younger sister not as good at potions as older sister

older sister plays potion trick on younger sister.

younger sister decides she wants revenge

gathers wrong kind of mushroom/at wrong time of day (forshadow)

tricks older sister into drinking it.

itch intensifies to the point that old sister is cutting off skin with a knife

older sister dies from her injuries.

mother comes home and finds the carnage

Younger sister take shapeshifter potion to make herself look like her older sister using bits of her sisters blood

It ain’t pretty, I know, but it worked. Because that line at the end there, the one where the younger sister becomes the thing she hates to escape the consequences of her actions? That idea wasn’t in my head before. It came from the process of writing down all my conceptions about the story on paper. This way, instead of getting all the way through writing the story and discovering that I needed to go back and change something to fit the ending, I can write it with all the ideas I would have found through the writing process in my head already.

I know this approach to brainstorming is nothing new, but it was new to me, and I have a feeling it’s going to be a powerful weapon in my arsenal. Maybe it could help you too. If you’re an incurable pantster like me, and you hate the rigid confines of the outline, then give this free-writing exercise a try. The great thing about it is there’s no pressure. It doesn’t have to look like anything. It doesn’t even have to make sense. After all you’re not going to show it to anyone. (Unless you’re a total doofus and post it to your blog for the whole world to see.) And it might make a tremendous difference and save you a lot of rewrites.

If you’ve got a different way, let me know about it in the comments. Because if there’s one thing I’ve learned about writing it’s this: there’s always something else to learn about writing.

12 responses to “Plotting for People Who Hate Plotting

  1. I really love this idea! I’m going to use it to get my character out of that pit I threw her in. (Yes, I know, she’s been in there awhile.) Thank you! This makes sense to me!

  2. You’re right about learning things about writing! I’m a pantster, too, though I’m moving more on pantsing my plot and then I’m writing it out with notes squashed in between.

    You might enjoy reading How to Be a Writer by Barbara Baig. She starts out with freewriting (what you’re basically doing) and then using that freewriting stuff to cut and paste a first draft. 😉 She’s been teaching writing for 20+ years.

    • I’ll definitely check it out. I’ve got such a long list of books about writing since I started interacting with so many other writers. I could spend hundreds of dollars at the book store at one time and still not get everything I’d like to have. One at a time I guess.

  3. I’ve been planning on writing a short story for the last couple of days and I think I may just try this method. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Plotting for People Who Hate Plotting « Unsanity Files -- Topsy.com

  5. I wouldn’t call myself a Pantster, but I can’t stand rigid outlines. I find them way too confining, and they don’t promote creativity for me.

    For my book, I did an outline sorta kinda similar to yours. I wrote down the basics of the story (what I knew of it) first, and then for the first half of the book I wrote (in point form) some brainstorming ideas for what I wanted to accomplish in each chapter.

    I don’t know what happened after that…it’s all a blur. I think I may have morphed into a Pantster at some point.

  6. Pingback: The Nutrition Taxi Writer Mash-up « The Happiness Project

Leave a Reply

