A Moral Abdomination

Fellow writers,

I, like you, have enjoyed the tantalizing fruits that hang low from the tree which is called National Novel Writing Month; I have reveled in the unbridled inspiration to productivity that period of time encourages.  But I have become troubled my writing brethren, deeply troubled, by the horrific and insensitive nature of the name of that sacred month.

National Novel Writing Month.  I spit out the words with a sneer of indignation, and a hiss of disgust.  For what one nation may lay claim to such a treasure?  What one country can take hold of such a sacred institution, and claim it for her own?

No, fellow writers, this month of writing should be open to all peoples, of all countries, regardless of skin color, religion, or preferred method of eating Oreos (I myself am partial to scraping the white from the inside of the cookie with my teeth; do not judge me fellow brethren).

That is why I am proposing that we rise up and alter forever the oppressive name of this glorious month.

Let those in Zambia and Lizben and in the Republic of Djibouti no longer quake in fear as they feverishly pound out their novels in the dead of night, hoping beyond hope that the brutal and pernicious NaNo Enforcement Squads will not catch them at their craft.  Let the world write freely and openly, without fear of reprisal.

It has been a long and careful consideration, but at long last I have decided that our great month of writing should be no longer called National Novel Writing Month.  Rather, in the interests of inclusion and the fostering of creativity around the world, I offer the following appellation: International Book Composing Lunar Cycle.  Or InBoCoLuCy for short.

Join me fellow InBo’s, and do not fear their terrible wrath.  Our lives may be forfeit, but the river of our blood will water the garden of creativity for generations to come.  Together we can make the world a better place.

5 responses to “A Moral Abdomination

  1. Actually, as I’m not from the US, I have often been annoyed by that intense focus on the US. I love the picture you put in the post, because it displays so well the idea people have of the world.

    When I was the US last March (I made a driving trip from Illinois to Wyoming to Nevada, so it’s not like I’ve only been to the big cities) and people would ask us where we’re from, they were like “oh, that’s nice”. They had no clue about a country named The Netherlands. Those that were a little better informed would ask me if that was the capitol of Amsterdam, or would say something in German – which is not the language we speak (even if Dutch is probably derived from “Deutsch”, which is “German” in German).

    I by no means want to generalize, but I have experienced it often, even online (or maybe especiallyg online). I’m glad that if they ask, I can tell them we’re not German, and that Amsterdam is the capitol of the Netherlands, and not the other way around. But it’s frustrating to know that many people don’t even know of my little country, while we know everything about theirs. Not that I expect everyone to know everything about every little country, but one can hope, right?

    (just like I hate it that nearly all online book giveaways are only available to those in the US and Canada, and that many writers totally forget about visiting the rest of the world, while so many fans are eager to meet them, and willing to travel huge distances to meet them).

    I like International Book Composing Lunar Cycle, especially the Lunar Cycle part, but I think it might be a tad too long :p.

    What about World Writing Lunar Cycle? :p WoWriLuCy? lol.

  2. Oh and I agree that it shouldn’t just focus on “novels”, but on all sorts of written word.

  3. LOVE IT! InBoCoLuCy. Catchy.

  4. Pingback: Mommy Dearest and other Literary Gurus « The Happiness Project

  5. It sounds weird because I’m used to NaNoWriMo. However, considering that United States is not the only one taking part of NaNo, I totally see your point. Maybe InNoWriMo would make the transition easier for me.

Leave a Reply

