Learning Curve

I was reading through Kristin Lamb’s latest post about plot structure today, when I was struck with the realization that I still have a lot to learn as a writer.  And I think the scariest part of this realization is that if I’d known at the outset how hard true success in writing would be I never would have made it this far.  Back then I had a special brand of stupidity known in some circles as optimism.  I had read all the advice about how hard it was going to be to get into the fiction world, but of course I knew none of it applied to me.

And even though I know better now, I’m glad I didn’t back then.  I’m glad I had enough stupid optimism to keep going, to reach the point where I’d be able to take joy in the writing for itself, without wondering whether it would sell or not.  Don’t get me wrong, I still really want to be published, but now, five years and six unsold books after I first started writing, I’ve come to realize that the journey may still be just beginning, and part of me is okay with that.

A few years ago, I made myself a promise that I would keep writing until I was either published or dead.  More than once since then I’ve had my doubts about whether that was a wise commitment to make, but today I’m as firmly committed to my writing as I’ve ever been.

Maybe five years from now, I’ll look back at myself and wonder how I could have been so naive, but for now at least I know I’m moving in the write direction. 🙂

6 responses to “Learning Curve

  1. Author Kristen Lamb

    I know exactly how you feel. Keep pressing on and one day you will hit the “tipping point.” Success begets success. Part of the reason I started blogging for writers is I spent too many years wandering around writing books that were so flawed they weren’t publishable….even though I was a paid copy writer and an editor. For some reason, I could pick apart and fix other people’s writing, but had no clue how to construct novels of my own.

    So I set out to learn and read every craft book I got my hands on…and this series is a product of that journey and I truly hope it makes things clear and simple so you will reach your dream far sooner.

    Thanks for the trackback and just keep learning and growing and improving. You will get there. Persistence prevails when all else fails.

    Kristen

    • For an author that espouses the importance of social media connections, you really practice what you preach. Having such a prominent blogger comment on my blog is a great honor, and if I wasn’t a fan of yours already, I would surely become one after this. Thanks for all you do to help us poor lost souls find our way in the world of writing.

  2. I’m inspired by that promise you made to yourself.

    But I’m sure you’ll keep writing after you’re published too!

  3. Pingback: All Hope Abandon, Ye Who Enter Here « Albert Berg's Unsanity Files

Leave a Reply

